Daviess County Library Board Meeting

November 15, 2018 at 4 p.m.


The board met in the basement at the main library.


Present: Daren Adkins, Shonna Morrison, Mary Jarboe, Kelvina Hobbs, Gregg Hartley, and interim director Elizabeth Plotner.


Daren called the meeting to order at 4:06 p.m.


The board reviewed the minutes of the October 18, 2018 meeting. Kelvina moved that the minutes be accepted as amended. Shonna seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.


The board reviewed the bills and financial reports. Shonna moved to pay the bills and Kelvina moved to second the motion, which passed unanimously.


Elizabeth presented her director’s report in written form. The first “International Observe the Moon Night” was a big success with 45 in attendance. The library is one of the highest volume users of TumbleBooks, and the state library has asked what the staff is doing to get such high numbers.


Mary moved that the library sell the gas wells, and Kelvina seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.


The driver’s license office has asked permission to use the conference room to administer the tests. [Mary discussed] Mary will check [checking]with the retired teachers, who also meet in the conference room, to see if the schedule can be adjusted so that the conference room can be used for both purposes.


Elizabeth has contacted Scott Earnst to complete some of the handyman tasks that need to be completed. She has also contacted Mark Moore and Randy Curtis for estimates to complete the backsplash on the basement kitchen area.


The board examined the budget for next year. Kelvina had to leave the meeting at 5:32 p.m.


The board discussed moving the Christmas get-together with board and staff to the week of April 7-13, 2019, which is National Library Week. The consensus was that this would be a great idea.


Gregg moved that the meeting be adjourned, and Mary seconded the motion, which passed unanimously. Meeting adjourned at 5:55 p.m.


The next regular meeting will be held at 4 p.m. on December 18, 2018.


Amended and approved at the December 18, 2018 meeting.


Gregg Hartley

Board Secretary